Psalidi

Hotel Platanista****

9,1
Platanista****
17 Reviews
Appreciation 9,1
Location 8,5
Service 9,2
Value for money 9,0
Food 9,2
Rooms 8,9
Child friendly 8,0
Swimming pool 9,2
Hygiene 9,4

17 Reviews (1..10)

17/08/2017
Sotia
A great place to be
Very relaxing place with excellent food and service in total
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure date2017
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 10,0
Service 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Food 10,0
Rooms 10,0
Child friendly 10,0
Swimming pool 10,0
Hygiene 10,0
15/08/2017
Iliana Karambela
Fantastic place
Great hotel with courteous and friendly staff! So many things to do...swimming pool, gym, aerobic, spa...and delicious meals! The meaning of absolute relaxation...Thanks for all!!!
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateAugust 2017
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 10,0
Service 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Food 10,0
Rooms 10,0
Child friendly 10,0
Swimming pool 10,0
Hygiene 10,0
12/08/2017
Triantafillos Kontoguris
Fantastic place!
Excellent! Nice people,polite, everything perfect!
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateAugust 2017
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 10,0
Service 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Food 10,0
Rooms 10,0
Child friendly 10,0
Swimming pool 10,0
Hygiene 10,0
10/11/2016
Mark Harrington
This hotel continues to deliver excellence
I think it is appropriate to start with an admission that I am a fan of this hotel and all that it offers but I also have a critical mind and will record my honest thoughts. In sum, if what matters to you on your holiday in the sun in Greece are nice rooms, cleanliness, good quality and selection of food at breakfast and dinner, staff that engage with the guests (who wish to be engaged) with humour and a range of languages and a location that is quiet but not too far from town, then this hotel should be very high on your list of hotels in the Dodecanese/Southern Aegean and top of your Kos list! I have been going to this hotel for 12 years and all the essentials are provided and well managed but each year there are improvements, the hotel fabric is well maintained and the welcoming atmosphere is always there despite changes in the staff group over time. This hotel has a variety of guests depending on the part of the season you travel including school holidays but whenever I have been there has always a been a good mix of people from a range of countries who get on well with each other. The children are well behaved and fortunately so are the adult guests. If you have lower level manners or a desire to make an idiot of yourself though excessive drinking/noise then this is not your place but if you are a friendly person/couple/family who wish to have a drink, mix, relax and have a good time then please book! There is a gym, sauna and massage room as well as two very well kept pools set within tropical style gardens. There is mini golf, tennis courts and a children’s play area (safe). There is also a sandy beach facility across the road exclusively for hotel customers with a lovely view across the sea. The animation team provide opportunities for activities during the day and a selection of entertainments at night. As they have to cater to a wide audience, so some material will be to your taste and some not so much; this is the same at any hotel I have been to. What is provided is reviewed by the management regularly. Food and drinks are available all day from a well run snack bar then drinks at an outside/pool bar near to the restaurant (interior and outside dining) and a bar near reception until late. The prices of drinks are reasonable for a hotel of this high standard, for example, top end cocktails for 7 Euros, large gin and tonic 6.50 Euros, a large draught beer 4 Euros, glass of wine 3 Euros and nice coffees for less than 3 Euros. Transport – you can hire bikes, quads, cars, scooters, etc., at a facility outside the hotel as well as many others in and on the way to Kos Town. Buses run regularly to and from Kos Town (1.10 Euros single fare in 2016) and to other areas. Taxis to town are around 7-8 Euros. I have written this before but I need to emphasise the point that what makes this a hotel that many people return to year after year is the way it is managed and staffed by engaging people. If you ever have a question or an issue, however minor, simply raise it with reception, a member of staff or management (depending on the issue) and it will be resolved. I am happy to answer any questions I can.
  • Travel partyTravelling alone
  • Travel departure dateSeptember 2016
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 9,0
Service 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Food 10,0
Rooms 10,0
Child friendly 9,0
Swimming pool 10,0
31/07/2016
KONTOGOURI ERI
The best hotel I have ever stayed!
Everything was great. In this hotel you have the best combination of accommodation, food and service.From the moment you enter the hotel until the moment you leave, you're so happy that the only thing you can do is smile...
  • Travel partyFamily with young children
  • Travel departure dateJuly 2016
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Child friendly 10,0
Swimming pool 10,0
28/06/2016
Mark Harrington
A great hotel with great staff
The Hotel Platanista continues to be my favourite holiday hotel. Yes it has very good food, yes it has good sized clean rooms and general public areas, yes the building and grounds are spotlessly maintained, yes it well managed and yes it has great facilities but why do I go, simple, the staff are fantastic, the animators are energetic and committed and the range of people you meet from different countries is a pleasure. We all know that Kos received negative publicity in 2015 because of the alleged migrant problem; sad as it was the reality is that there were no issues just a challenge for Greece economically and in terms of the amount of personnel to deal with the matter. I have been to Kos 5 times since the spring of 2015 and I have never heard of a single problem caused by migrants then and of course now there no migrant issues in Kos at all. The Hotel Platanista has faced a challenge with bookings because of inaccurate or unrefined news reporting but while I was there in early to mid-June I met a number of first timers to the hotel, of different ages, and they all said what a fantastic place it was citing the staff group for particular praise but also mentioning the facilities and the food. When I was there numbers grew considerably from what was a slow start to the season and the hotel was in ‘good swing’ as I left. I have recorded this before but wish to re-iterate the point if you are a person who thinks getting drunk and being loud, difficult or rude then please find somewhere else, this is a proper hotel where decent people from all over Europe come to relax and mix. If you want a ‘bar street’ shot swigging type atmosphere go elsewhere. That’s not to say the bars are not fun they are! If you want to broaden your education and cultural knowledge of other European people come to the Hotel Platanista; as before I met some lovely people from Belgium, the Netherlands, Italy, Switzerland, France, Germany and the UK and many said they would be returning. People of all ages mixed well and respected each other. As an update the local transport costs to Kos Town, from the hotel it is 1 Euro 10 cents by bus and buses run regularly, or 7 Euros for a taxi. Depending on how fast you walk it takes between 25-40 minutes. The hotel maintains a sandy beach across the road and there are nearby bike, scooter, quad and car renting facilities. So if you thinking of coming to Kos and the north east side of the island in particular there is no better hotel to choose.
  • Travel partyTravelling alone
  • Travel departure dateJune 2016
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 9,0
Service 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Food 10,0
Rooms 10,0
Child friendly 10,0
Swimming pool 10,0
30/06/2016
Sofie
LOVELY
This hotel is really a recommendation for everybody. They offer everything you need for a perfect holiday: lovely food, great people, nice rooms. Very nice environment, near to Kos city. A perfect place to start your discovery of the Island. I will go back next year!
  • Travel partyFamily with young children
  • Travel departure dateMay 2016
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 10,0
Service 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Food 10,0
Rooms 10,0
Child friendly 10,0
Swimming pool 10,0
22/05/2015
Stavros Papadogiannis
The best
One of the best hotels in Kos. Wonderful people, great service, excellent facilities. 5 stars
  • Travel partyBusiness trip
  • Travel departure dateMay 2015
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 10,0
Service 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Food 10,0
Rooms 10,0
Child friendly 10,0
Swimming pool 10,0
07/11/2014
Mark Harrington
Continues to be a great hotel
I have been to this hotel many times over the last 9 years and it continues to provide a relaxing environment where everything works very well, the staff are friendly and amusing, there are a variety of European tourists to engage with. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and well maintained and the choice of menu at breakfast and dinner is extensive. The pools and surrounding grounds are excellent and meticulously maintained. There are a choice of bars, a snack café and poolside drinks bar. The hotel also has a private sandy beach across the road. As and HR person I think I am reasonably well placed to state that what makes this hotel a really good place to stay is the staff team, with their hard work, flexibility and willingness to engage with the hotel residents.
  • Travel partyTravelling alone
  • Travel departure dateSeptember 2014
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 9,0
Service 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Food 10,0
Rooms 10,0
Child friendly 10,0
Swimming pool 10,0
05/10/2014
AGELOS
excellent choice
quality service in a peaceful environment close to the city of kos
  • Travel partyTravelling alone
  • Travel departure dateSeptember 2014
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 9,0
Service 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Food 10,0
Rooms 10,0
Swimming pool 10,0