Calheta

Holiday home Casa do Calhau Grande***

8,3
Casa do Calhau Grande***
6 Reviews
Appreciation 8,3
Location 9,1
Value for money 8,0
Interior 8,4
Space 8,9

6 Reviews

23/06/2009
Rossanna Szugs
Fantastic Place!
Now it´s time to fly back home again. We have been here for the third time, but this time we were only two. I have said it before and now I do it again: This is a fantastic place. It has been a great time for us here in Sapateiro house and Madeira has become a paradise for us. I have never eaten such delicious spinach and guavas fresh from the tree!! To top it, cats provide even more tranquility. Thank you so much. We´ll be back next year!
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateJune 2009
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Interior 10,0
Space 10,0
20/06/2009
Rosalba Desenzani
The best!
We really enjoyed our trip to Madeira, with the Sun and the beautiful scenery, the hiking Tours, the sea, the exotic fruits and the seafood. Levada house is a little paradise which contributed a lot to our good memories of Madeira. We really love this place with all the dark wood inside and the stunning view on the acean, with the terrace and the grill – we had barbecue almost every night! And last but not the least the friendliness of Eva and her family, which took good care of us and gave us lots of fruits and vegetables from their garden. All in all we had great holidays in a really nice place! Thank you! Besides the wonderful place, we also found two little friends, one in black and one in red, both cats accompanied us every morning an evening…
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateJune 2009
Appreciation 10,0
Appreciation 10,0
Location 10,0
Value for money 10,0
Interior 10,0
Space 10,0
28/05/2009
Patrice
Memorable holidays! :))
This is the best place on Madeira and I really appreciated my holydays at Casa do Calhau. The garden was amazing and the view over the Atlantic Ocean incredible. The owner family work hard to make it a very special place. What a peaceful place! I really hope to be there again.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateMay 2009
Appreciation 9,0
Appreciation 9,0
Location 9,0
Value for money 9,0
Interior 9,0
Space 9,0
14/01/2009
Juliet
What a Disaster!!
On it’s website the place looks lovely but in reality it was a nightmare! There were not enough blankets on the bed and insufficient heating, hot water,lighting and kitchen equipment. The wash basin was blocked - we had to wash on the terrace. It took 2 days to contact the owners, who live off site and have no manager, to solve these problems. But then we discovered the place was infested with mice. There were mice droppings on the cooker and in our food every day. The final straw was when we discovered a cockroach in the damp bathroom which had been leaking water from the terrace above. We contacted the local tourist information who said we should ask for a refund and the official Complaints Book. The owners refused to provide a refund and the Complaints book and harassed us. We finally left, late at night ,in the pouring rain and went to a hotel. To sum the place up I would say it has 4 star prices but basic hostel type accomodation and services and poor management.
  • Travel partyFriends
  • Travel departure dateDecember 2008
Appreciation 3,0
Appreciation 3,0
Location 6,0
Value for money 1,0
Interior 2,0
Space 2,0
11/02/2009
Mark Gaute
Another year another beautifull vacantion
We are rested and we have had our batteries recharged. Casa do Calhau Grande is full of beautiful details uniquely sculptured from the mountains. We ate the herbs, the chilli peppers and spinach in the gardens. We smelt the flowers, basked in the sunshine and in the staggering view of the ocean. We hope to return soon and will certainly recommend it to all our friends.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateSeptember 2008
Appreciation 9,0
Appreciation 9,0
Location 8,0
Value for money 9,0
Interior 10,0
Space 10,0
10/07/2007
Andre
Lovely garden on top of a mountain, with 4 different cabins. A lovely oceanview and in the middle of the countryside. The house was simple, authentic, but it had everything in it you needed. No luxury, yet peace and quiet. A nice scenery and a good operating base for planning daytrips to the West Coast of Madeira and the Paul de Serra-plain.
  • Travel party
  • Travel departure dateunknown
Appreciation 8,0
Appreciation 8,0
Location 10,0
Value for money 9,0