Playa del Carmen

Hotel RIU Yucatan****

8.6
RIU Yucatan****
6 Reviews
Appreciation 8.6
Location 9.2
Service 8.8
Value for money 8.6
Food 8.8
Rooms 8.2
Child friendly 8.5
Swimming pool 8.2
Hygiene 8.2

6 Reviews

28/06/2008
wilma & willem noordeloos
We stayed here for 16 days starting 11 June 2008. Definitely not recommendable! The pool water was dirty for 8 days; there was fat floating on it. I have 3 pictures of this. The bubble bath water was also very dirty. After I had lodged a complaint they did something about it. They are now renovating the bubble bath; nice when you're on holiday. I have reported the complaints to the travel agent, Maarten Buiys, but he just shrugged, wouldn't even come and have a look at the pool! He was far too busy selling excursions which of course earns him money! The service during the first week was bad. Our room was cleaned but the towels only came at 4PM; that's ridiculous for a 5***** hotel. The mini-bar wasn't replenished during that first week. Alex doesn't understand it, Wilma & Willem Noordeloos.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateunknown
Appreciation 10.0
Appreciation 10.0
Location 9.0
Service 6.0
Value for money 6.0
Food 6.0
Rooms 6.0
08/05/2008
Peter en Olga
Dear, We can recommend this hotel to everybody, we simply had a brilliant holiday. The excursions are expensive but very worthwhile and perfectly taken care of. For me a dream came true by swimming with dolphins. You really swim with them for 45 minutes (simply great). The animation team works 14 hours a day but if you see the shows in the evening you'll understand, simply amazing. We stayed here for 14 days, I love being at home but I could have stayed a bit longer.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateunknown
Appreciation 10.0
Appreciation 10.0
Location 10.0
Service 10.0
Value for money 10.0
Food 10.0
Rooms 9.0
Child friendly 8.0
28/05/2008
Holsters Koen
Great hotel, an oasis of peace. We stayed in the 2nd block of the hotel which was very well located. About in the middle in between the main building and the swimming pool. A disadvantage is the big amount of loud Americans and Canadians, but this is the same for every hotel in this area. Except for the Palace maybe. A big disadvantage according to us was the maintenance of the swimming pool. Wasn't always clean... We were here from the 10th till the 25th of May. Very good time wen it comes to the weather. In general we had a fantastic holiday.
  • Travel partyFriends
  • Travel departure dateMay 2008
Appreciation 10.0
Appreciation 10.0
Location 9.0
Service 10.0
Value for money 9.0
Food 8.0
Rooms 10.0
12/12/2007
Peter Beenakkers
Went to Riu Yucatan end of november, till december 10th 2007, with a party of 4. Very spacious rooms, clean, clean bedlinnen every day. Very kind staff, at the reception, also the waiting staff and the people from the animationteam. The animationteam is good and the shows are worth checking out. Beach has been minimalised by the last hurricanes. THey are busy repairing this. there are many possibilities to make trips/excursions. Would recommend the Maya complex in Tulum and the island of Cozumel. We had a really nice holiday in Riu Yucatan
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateunknown
Appreciation 9.0
Appreciation 9.0
Location 8.0
Service 10.0
Value for money 9.0
Food 9.0
Rooms 10.0
Child friendly 9.0
27/11/2007
charlotte en bas
We got back on the 25th of November 2007. We'd had a wonderful time. We could have stayed here for 12 weeks instead of 12 days.?The room was lovely but the toilet didn't work.?They had fixed the problem within the hour. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We loved all three meals a day.?The food was nice and it was nicely presented. The pools were really nice, though you did have to put towels out so you could sit in the sun.?The beach was a bit small and that meant it felt a bit cramped at times.?The beach is much smaller then it was last year as lots of the sand has been washed away.?We didn't mind too much and we still had a great time. The best bit was the 24 hour all-in service. It was wonderful. We're planning another trip soon. I can really recommend this place!!!!
  • Travel partyFamily
  • Travel departure dateunknown
Appreciation 10.0
Appreciation 10.0
Location 10.0
Service 10.0
Value for money 10.0
Food 10.0
Rooms 10.0
20/05/2008
gunther & esther
If there is a hotel that comes close to perfection on every area, then it is Riu Yucutan. Very recommendable is the jungle tour.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateMay 2006
Appreciation 10.0
Appreciation 10.0
Location 10.0
Service 10.0
Value for money 10.0
Food 10.0
Rooms 10.0