Praia da Rocha

Hotel Oriental****

8.9
Oriental****
7 Reviews
Appreciation 8.9
Location 8.8
Service 9.8
Value for money 9.4
Food 7.5
Rooms 9.8
Swimming pool 8.6
Hygiene 9.4

7 Reviews

13/06/2008
Marlinda van Ee
This is a really nice hotel which is located in a lovely area. The staff are excellent and they all speak English. Breakfast was nice too. We didn't have dinner here because we heard it wasn't very nice. We spent eight days here which wasn't really enough. There are some nice clubs and pubs in the area. There are lots of lovely restaurants nearby.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateJune 2008
Appreciation 9.0
Appreciation 9.0
Location 9.0
Service 9.0
Value for money 9.0
Food 8.0
Rooms 7.0
13/06/2008
J.A. van de Kleut
We didn't really feel that the Oriental Hotel fitted in with the surrounding area. All the new complexes being built are bigger and higher which is a shame. The breakfast here was really nice. We had dinner here twice and we thought the downside was that when you decided not to have the special and wanted to order a la carte things took way too long.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateMay 2008
Appreciation 8.0
Appreciation 8.0
Location 9.0
Service 8.0
Value for money 8.0
Food 7.0
Rooms 8.0
11/06/2008
J. de Goede
The breakfast was really nice but dinner was rather meagre. The plates were served filled and you could have either fish or meat. The meat was chicken, turkey or duck at times and there wasn't enough of it. If you didn't want fish or meat they made an omelette. The deserts were really nice. We had to leave really early on the last day and we requested a breakfast which was brought to us at 22.00. It consisted of two slices of crusty bread, some jam, honey and some butter (no cheese, ham or eggs). We were given a tea bag , no water, coffee that we could warm up, an orange and a pear. I do have to say that the owner of this hotel was sick during our stay and that his staff might just have been taking liberties while he was away.
  • Travel partyFamily
  • Travel departure dateMay 2008
Appreciation 8.0
Appreciation 8.0
Location 8.0
Service 8.0
Value for money 8.0
Food 7.0
Rooms 8.0
06/06/2008
wildeboer
Why does the food score a 5. Breakfast was great but dinner was awful. Not worthy of four stars!!!!!!
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateMay 2008
Appreciation 9.0
Appreciation 9.0
Location 8.0
Service 8.0
Value for money 8.0
Food 5.0
Rooms 9.0
10/09/2007
P. Geerlings
A magnificent hotel, close to the beach. There's this nasty flight of steps to the beach, so it's rather hard for poor walkers. Good service. Kind personnel. I liked Praia da Rocha, lots of Portuguese people around. Lovely food. The prices are the same as in Holland.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateAugust 2007
Appreciation 10.0
Appreciation 10.0
Location 10.0
Service 10.0
Value for money 8.0
Food 8.0
Rooms 9.0
Child friendly 6.0
24/08/2007
Jolanda en Roy
Our hotel was fully booked, so we stayed at Oriental. Poor cleaning. They gave us clean towels every day though. I didn't like the club at the beach, very noisy. Poor breakfast and poor dinner. Lovely weather and a nice beach. A magnificent view. I can recommend looking at the dolphins.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateAugust 2007
Appreciation 6.0
Appreciation 6.0
Location 10.0
Service 6.0
Value for money 6.0
Food 5.0
Rooms 6.0
Child friendly 6.0
08/08/2007
A van Piggelen
Good breakfast. Dinner was poor. Little variation. Not a place suitable for children. Kind personnel. Clean rooms.
  • Travel partyFamily
  • Travel departure dateJuly 2007
Appreciation 8.0
Appreciation 8.0
Location 10.0
Service 8.0
Value for money 8.0
Food 6.0
Rooms 8.0
Child friendly 7.0