Mellieha

Hotel Mellieha Bay****

7.5
Mellieha Bay****
7 Reviews
Appreciation 7.5
Location 8.2
Service 7.8
Value for money 7.7
Food 7.9
Rooms 7.6
Child friendly 7.0
Swimming pool 7.7
Hygiene 7.9

7 Reviews

20/09/2018
Sebastian
Will visit it again
The food, the beach and the view are worth everything, but the rooms and bathrooms were the only downsides of this hotel, overall a pleasant experience.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateSeptember 2018
Appreciation 7.0
Appreciation 7.0
Location 10.0
Service 7.0
Value for money 7.0
Food 9.0
Rooms 5.0
Swimming pool 8.0
Hygiene 7.0
03/07/2013
Mart
The complex consists of 4-5 buildings and has its own private beach with sun beds. There are also extra ones available in two pedestrian areas. The resort has 2 swimming pools, 1 for children (with animation program) and 1 for the other guests, with enough sun beds. It was a good idea as you could take a break from the little ones. It takes 5 minutes to get from one end to the other of the complex, the beach is at a similar distance. We chose a half-board. After 10 days we got bored with the choice of breakfasts (it was prepared mainly for the English). The dinners (2 times we ate outsied the resort) were delicious. Every day we were served something else (even a BBQ). The rooms were ok, solid beds, pleasant shower and air conditioning. During the holidays we did not watch TV. Mellieha is widely popular among people from Eastern Europe, Scandinavians, the French, English and Dutch. The bus stop is within 10 min. Conclusion: this is not a 5-star Turkish object for $640, but a decent hotel on Malta.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateJune 2013
Appreciation 8.0
Appreciation 8.0
Location 8.0
Service 7.0
Value for money 8.0
Food 7.0
Rooms 8.0
Child friendly 7.0
08/05/2013
Wilma
The hotel in Mellieha is situated near a tiny sandy beach next to the bay with a much bigger beach. It has 2 swimming pools and is quite stretched, so you should be prepared for a lot of walking. When A we stayed there (April / May), some of the bars were not open yet. The level of the ground in this area changes a lot so you have to climb many stair. There are 2 types of rooms: standard and renovated. We stayed in a standard room, which was actually very standard: average beds and a very small, old TV. Taking a shower standing up is not possible as the stream of water is very weak. Both the hotel and the food are set to the English. A poor choice of breads for breakfast and lots of warm, fatty food of average quality. Lunch and dinner taste better, but they are also prepared to the English taste. The area is rather quiet. In fact our room was incredibly quiet, but I heard that it was not the case in other rooms. The staff was friendly. We used the all inclusive. Next time I would go for a half-board. End of April / beginning of May was windy, making it too cold for swimming and sunbathing.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateApril 2013
Appreciation 7.0
Appreciation 7.0
Location 7.0
Service 8.0
Value for money 7.0
Food 7.0
Rooms 6.0
26/06/2011
Prickles
Wonderful by day but dire by night
I’ve read a lot of reviews about this hotel (some good and some bad) so here’s my own two penn'orth. First of all, don’t be conned by the holiday company (as we were) into paying extra for a room with a ‘sea view’; in this hotel ALL the rooms overlook the sea! We had a lovely room; light, airy and stylishly decorated. There was a fridge, a decent hairdryer and large flat screen TV. Housekeeping was excellent – room was cleaned daily, bedding changed regularly and the chambermaid left big, fluffy white towels in the bathroom every day without fail. At first we thought the air conditioning wasn’t working but the chap on reception explained that it only functions when doors and windows are closed. Once we knew that, it worked a treat. As for the water, some people have complained that it’s brown. Admittedly it is rusty looking (and the cold tap in our bathroom had very poor pressure, bath took ages to fill) but we need to bear in mind that (unlike in UK) water is not an abundan
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateJune 2011
Appreciation 9.0
Appreciation 9.0
Location 8.0
Service 10.0
Value for money 9.0
Food 10.0
Rooms 10.0
Child friendly 7.0
27/12/2009
geoffrey ruddick
great hotel
the mellieha bay hotel **** is a great hotel with fair prices for food/drinks,rooms are kept clean and tidy with regular towel/bedding changes.the three pools are all clean and the indoor one heated.good food for all types of tastes in the dinning room.the staff are all very freindly and have time for you cant wait to go back. (little isolated but good bus service including free hotel curtesy bus ) geoff
  • Travel partyFamily with older children
  • Travel departure dateDecember 2009
Appreciation 10.0
Appreciation 10.0
Location 8.0
Service 10.0
Value for money 8.0
Food 10.0
Rooms 10.0
Child friendly 8.0
06/10/2007
Kelly
Because of an overbooking at our hotel, we went to this hotel. The food was good, a beautiful room with a gorgeous view, good swimmingpools, private beach ( not a lot of deckchairs at the beach) animation every night, but not really suitable for a young audience, not much to do around the hotel, the town of Mellieha is at a few miles walking distance, uphill, very steep and by a dangerous road. Busstop at the hotel, which was very positive cause by bus, you can get everywhere on Malta. Hotel itself was okay.
  • Travel partyWith partner
  • Travel departure dateunknown
Appreciation 7.0
Appreciation 7.0
Location 5.0
Service 6.0
Food 8.0
Rooms 8.0
16/09/2007
schaap
This was our worsed vacation ever. Filthy, small rooms, had to beg to get some towels, never a free bed at the beach. At 21.45 hrs in the evening, lights out on the balcony!..... Food really bad, cheep food, the same greasy meal for the kids every day, something you would never serve your kids. Even on the day we left, we did not get any breakfast, even though it was mentioned in the voucher. Staff argueing in the restaurant. The only positive thing there was the view. A real disaster. We will also tell this to everyone that wants to hear it. Definitely not worth 4 stars, but -4 stars for that kind of quality and service
  • Travel partyFamily
  • Travel departure dateJuly 2007
Appreciation 3.0
Appreciation 3.0
Location 5.0
Service 3.0
Value for money 2.0
Food 1.0
Rooms 1.0
Child friendly 5.0